Wednesday, November 29, 2006

You've got Spam!

First let me say that I am blessed by having a really good spam system in place that removes 90% of the spam from my "Inbox". Right now I have over 4,000 peices of junk in a temp folder automatically created for me on the mail server that I don't have to look at unless I want to see what I am missing. And that is not counting the thousands of emails that are so horriffic they don't even get that far. As I say I am blessed.

Okay but I still get spam and it makes me angry because those few stupid time wasters are now annoying little gnats! So I have this morning revenge tactic. I don't just get mad - I get active.

So I thought I should blog a primer!

SPAM Boot Camp!
Throughout this page the links are to additional resources.
Many are to wikipedia an excellent resource!



First Rule:
Know Your Email Headers!

What are email headers
?

Email headers are the bits that carry the routing information of emails required to get it from a works station - to a mail server - to another mail server, and then on to the recipient.

How to view headers:
Each flavor of email software is different - so use the help files! Do a search in help for "headers" and if that comes up black do a search for "view details".

What do email headers look like?

Here is an example of an email complete with headers:

The notes in GREEN are my notes to explain what things mean!

X-Persona:  (Only means is it coming to that organization)
Return-Path: ("suppossedly" the sender -
they are lying - this is forged)

Received: from 206.117.168.17 ([202.104.235.68])(FORGED IP address of the sender)

From sfxdbyzh@kendrakessel.com Tue Nov 28 22:32:12 2006

("suppossedly" who it is from - but they are lying - this is forged)
Return-Path:

(this is forged too)
X-Spam-Flag: YES (My SPAM filters add all the stuff in BLUE)
X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 3.1.0 (2005-09-13) on (I removed my mail server info here)
X-Spam-Level: SSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
(Oh yes - this is really SPAM see all those S's)
X-Spam-Status: Yes, score=15.3 required=6.0 tests=BAYES_99, (Above a score of 6 I don't see it in my INBOX)
(Next are the first tests that caught this bad boy)
DATE_IN_FUTURE_12_24,EXTRA_MPART_TYPE,HTML_MESSAGE,RCVD_IN_DSBL,
(About the tests above:

DATE_IN_FUTURE_12_24 means:

When spammers put the date in the future it stays at the top of you email folder until the date passes
EXTRA_MPART_TYPE means it had extra servings of crap in the headers
HTML_MESSAGE means - SPAMMERS like to hide behind bold and big fonts to try and get your attention fast before you hit the trash button
RCVD_IN_DSBL means - well go here to see specifics on this email: http://dsbl.org/listing?59.92.60.221 OR go here to see the explaination of why this got flagged: http://dsbl.org/sender
)
RCVD_IN_NJABL_PROXY,RCVD_IN_XBL autolearn=no version=3.1.0
(Above means the sender machine is an open proxy - either by design or a machine without a firewall that got hacked allowing it to spew this garbage - and the spam learning system is making notes or something)

The next report below is more of the same test and score information
X-Spam-Report:

* 1.1 EXTRA_MPART_TYPE Header has extraneous Content-type:...type= entry
* 2.8 DATE_IN_FUTURE_12_24 Date: is 12 to 24 hours after Received: date
* 0.5 HTML_MESSAGE BODY: HTML included in message
* 4.0 BAYES_99 BODY: Bayesian spam probability is 99 to 100%
* [score: 1.0000]
* 1.0 RCVD_IN_DSBL RBL: Received via a relay in list.dsbl.org
* [<http://dsbl.org/listing?59.92.60.221>]

* 2.0 RCVD_IN_NJABL_PROXY RBL: NJABL: sender is an open proxy
* [59.92.60.221 listed in combined.njabl.org]
* 3.9 RCVD_IN_XBL RBL: Received via a relay in Spamhaus XBL
* [59.92.60.221 listed in sbl-xbl.spamhaus.org]

Received: from Media1 ([59.92.60.221]) (***** WOO HOO AN IP ADDRESS! ***** )

(I removed my mail server & ISP information here) with ESMTP id kAT6W2OY007001

for <my_email@my_domian.com>; Tue, 28 Nov 2006 22:32:06 -0800

Message-ID: <000b01c713f2$93378090$0e01a8c0@media1>

From: "vas"

To: "ellen"

Subject: ****SPAM**** Re: i think it is finally time

Date: Wed, 29 Nov 2006 12:11:37 -0800

MIME-Version: 1.0

Content-Type: multipart/related;

type="multipart/alternative";

boundary="----=_NextPart_000_0007_01C713F2.93378090"

X-Priority: 3

X-MSMail-Priority: Normal

X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 5.50.4522.1200

X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V5.50.4522.1200

X-Scanned-By: MIMEDefang 2.54 on 207.151.82.18

X-Spam-Prev-Subject: Re: i think it is finally time


Content-Type: text/plain;

Low Cost Prescription Drugs - Without a Prescription

Vicodix, Sona, Hydroxodine, Levitna, Valtrix & more


http://www.megodsdepotes.biz/pharmexopexplace


OKAY LETS SLUETH!

59.92.60.221 
That is the ip address above that made me say
(***** WOO HOO AN IP ADDRESS! ***** )
Let's find out who owns that machine!

Go to: http://www.arin.net/whois/

copy and paste the number in the little search window and click the "Search WHOIS" button.
hmmm:
  Search results for: 59.92.60.221  

OrgName: Asia Pacific Network Information Centre
OrgID: APNIC
Address: PO Box 2131
City: Milton
StateProv: QLD
PostalCode: 4064
Country: AU

ReferralServer: whois://whois.apnic.net

NetRange: 59.0.0.0 - 59.255.255.255
CIDR: 59.0.0.0/8
NetName: APNIC-59
NetHandle: NET-59-0-0-0-1
Parent:
NetType: Allocated to APNIC
NameServer: NS1.APNIC.NET
NameServer: NS3.APNIC.NET
NameServer: NS4.APNIC.NET
NameServer: TINNIE.ARIN.NET
NameServer: NS.LACNIC.NET
NameServer: NS-SEC.RIPE.NET
Comment: This IP address range is not registered in the ARIN database.
Comment: For details, refer to the APNIC Whois Database via
Comment: WHOIS.APNIC.NET or http://www.apnic.net/apnic-bin/whois2.pl
Comment: ** IMPORTANT NOTE: APNIC is the Regional Internet Registry
Comment: for the Asia Pacific region. APNIC does not operate networks
Comment: using this IP address range and is not able to investigate
Comment: spam or abuse reports relating to these addresses. For more
Comment: help, refer to http://www.apnic.net/info/faq/abuse
RegDate: 2004-05-04
Updated: 2005-05-20

OrgTechHandle: AWC12-ARIN
OrgTechName: APNIC Whois Contact
OrgTechPhone: +61 7 3858 3100
OrgTechEmail: search-apnic-not-arin@apnic.net

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2006-11-28 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.

Okay - so we need to go to the next whois:
http://www.apnic.net/apnic-bin/whois.pl

And when we do the look-up here we get:
inetnum:      59.88.0.0 - 59.99.255.255
netname: BSNLNET
descr: NIB (National Internet Backbone)
descr: Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited
descr: Sanchar Bhawan,20, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001
country: IN
admin-c: NC83-AP
tech-c: CDN1-AP
status: ALLOCATED PORTABLE
remarks: Request for additional IP Addresses for NIB Phase-2
mnt-by: APNIC-HM
mnt-lower: MAINT-IN-DOT
mnt-routes: MAINT-IN-DOT
remarks: -+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-++-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
remarks: This object can only be updated by APNIC hostmasters.
remarks: To update this object, please contact APNIC
remarks: hostmasters and include your organisation's account
remarks: name in the subject line.
remarks: -+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-++-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
changed: hm-changed@apnic.net 20040906
changed: hm-changed@apnic.net 20040906
source: APNIC
route:        59.92.48.0/20
descr: BSNL Internet
country: IN
origin: AS9829
mnt-lower: MAINT-IN-DOT
mnt-routes: MAINT-IN-DOT
mnt-by: MAINT-IN-AS9829
changed: routemaster@sancharnet.in 20060404
source: APNIC
role:         NS Cell
address: Internet Cell
address: Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited
address: 8th Floor,148-B Statesman House
address: Barakhamba Road, New Delhi - 110 001
country: IN
phone: +91-11-23734057
phone: +91-11-23710183
fax-no: +91-11-23372252
e-mail: cgmdnw@sancharnet.in
e-mail: nib_abuse@sancharnet.in (**** THIS IS THE ABUSE EMAIL ADDRESS ****)
admin-c: CGMD1-AP
tech-c: DT197-AP
nic-hdl: NC83-AP
mnt-by: MAINT-IN-DOT
changed: dnwplg@sancharnet.in 20030120
source: APNIC
role:         CGM Data Networks
address: Lobby 1 , 4th Floor
address: Mahanagar Doorsanchar Sadan
address: 9 CGO Complex , Lodhi Road , New Delhi
country: IN
phone: +91-11-24326781
phone: +91-11-23737571
fax-no: +91-11-24326783
fax-no: +91-11-23737573
e-mail: cgmdnw@sancharnet.in
e-mail: dnwplg@sancharnet.in
e-mail: nib_abuse@sancharnet.in
admin-c: CGMD1-AP
tech-c: DT197-AP
tech-c: BH155-AP
nic-hdl: CDN1-AP
mnt-by: MAINT-IN-DOT
changed: dnwplg@sancharnet.in 20030120
source: APNIC
**********************************************************
SO WHAT NOW?

The Good NEWS:
We got some email addresses:
e-mail:       cgmdnw@sancharnet.in
e-mail: dnwplg@sancharnet.in
e-mail: nib_abuse@sancharnet.in
So I send them email and get back:
Date: Thu, 30 Nov 2006 00:06:52 +0530 (IST)
From: Internet Mail Delivery
Subject: Delivery Notification: Delivery has failed

Your message cannot be delivered to the following recipients:

Recipient address: @nppa.sancharnet.in:cgmdnw@sancharnet.in
Original address: cgmdnw@sancharnet.in
Reason: "Possible Virus Detected HMlfCrQg6L.gif"
Recipient address: @nppa.sancharnet.in:dnwplg@sancharnet.in
Original address: dnwplg@sancharnet.in
Reason: "Possible Virus Detected HMlfCrQg6L.gif"
Recipient address: @nppa.sancharnet.in:nib_abuse@sancharnet.in
Original address: nib_abuse@sancharnet.in
Reason: "Possible Virus Detected HMlfCrQg6L.gif"

Message rejected: Conversion failure.




The BAD NEWS:
We got some email addresses IN INDIA - dang!
OKAY - I have friends from India and they are wonderful people, and mean no disrepect in my sorry exclamation.

The economic reality is that the people there are scrambling to make a living. Providing internet services as well as lame-ass call centers has provided jobs that pay well for those employed.
I can not blame them for this - but I do not have to like it!